Snowball effect of random act of kindness


One of those mornings, although a Friday…I was grumpy, my little one was super grumpy and lack of sleep contributed to the nagging headache. As we drove to school, we made an unscheduled stop at a drive thru. I placed my order and asked for the total and the lady said, “Drive up to the window and I will tell you.” I was irked, partly because of my headache and partly because I am so well planned with my moves that I like to keep exact change in hand even before reaching the window which is 20 seconds from where I order. As I drove up, she handed me the little brown paper bag of goodies with a smile, “The person ahead of you paid for you.” In a flash, it brought about a smile and thank goodness for presence of mind, I decided to pay it forward. I didn’t really get a chance to thank the driver ahead of me, neither did I wait for the driver behind to thank me. A few invaluable lessons that I learned in that few seconds.

  • Random acts of kindness have the effect of Red Bull on a person’s mind. Atoms of happiness burst through every part of the body. 
  • Thoughts shift from trivial things like my lurking headache to the cool breeze, warmth of the glowing sun, the beauty of nature outside, the smiles on people’s faces.
  • Such kindness not only leaves the doer and the receiver happy, but also the person delivering the message.  In that 30 seconds that I was at the window, I saw huge smiles on the faces of those women that were perhaps having a ‘regular’ work day. 
  • The effect of such kindness lasts a lot longer than the monetary value of the act. 
  • It brings goosebumps to people who even hear about it.
  • It reaffirms faith in humanity that kindness is not a rarity and if you seek, you will find in plenty.
  • Many people who heard this story have vowed to do the same.
  • It is perhaps the cheapest form of charitable act, but has a snowball effect on joy. 
  • It will be one thing that I would remember for a lifetime because I see the need to spread kindness not just amongst loved ones, but also amongst strangers. 

Thank you stranger :)… You made my day…

3 responses to “Snowball effect of random act of kindness

  1. Love this 🙂 Such a feel good story!

  2. I thought such things happened only in movies or novels 🙂 Feels so good just reading about it !

Leave a comment